Heavy snow in Tokyo for the 2013 Coming-of-Age Day

Coming of Age day under the snow in TokyoToday was a national holiday in Japan, to celebrate the Coming-of-Age Day. If you don’t already know what this is, you can check out the blog post I wrote about it last year.

Coming-of-Age Day 2013 - Heavy Snow-4

Just like last year, I was planning on hitting the streets of Tokyo to get some pictures of the usual Coming-of-Age Day kimonos parade, but when I woke up this morning it was just pouring rain outside, and I got instantly much less excited… Another glance through the window a couple of hours later to check if the rain had stopped, and suddenly I realized that one of the biggest snowfalls of the recent years in Tokyo was happening outside. It was one of these times, when you don’t even know It is has begun to snow, but suddenly when you look outside there is already a huge white blanket of snow upon  your familiar streets.

Coming of Age day under the snow in Tokyo

Well, right away I knew it was a stupid idea, and that all I would get from that would be dead shoes, wet clothes, drowned gear, and most likely a cold, but there was just no way trying to resist… I had to go outside and get some pictures of this very special 2013 Coming-of-Age Day. Here are some of them…

Coming of Age day under the snow in Tokyo

As usual, if you liked this article, please subscribe to the blog updates and help spread the news using the social network sharing buttons just below… This is much appreciated, thanks!

5 thoughts on “Heavy snow in Tokyo for the 2013 Coming-of-Age Day

  1. Pingback: 2014 Coming of Age Day | Gritty Monkey

  2. jeanne

    biutiful pictures japan 2013…….I wanna dress like that and walk in the snow….
    I saw one of those pictures on facebook so I was searching for the one who took them…. and I found you…….Is it possible to buy one of these pictures so I can hang it on the wall and see that biuti every day….
    .

    1. No need to buy it, I’ll send you the file and you can print it the way you want. It’s on an old hard drive, so might not be right away but in due time. Contact me by private message on Twitter or Instagram to give me your e-mail address.

Leave a Reply

