Fujifilm at CP+ 2016

My excitement was not very high this year for CP+, as I already had the opportunity to put my hands on all the new Fuji products at the X-Series 5th anniversary special event just a month ago. I nonetheless consider CP+ a good opportunity to take the pulse of the industry as a whole, so just like every year I headed to Yokohama for the annual gathering in Japan of the photo industry.

As usual, I headed to the Fujifilm booth first, which for whatever reason was located at a different place this year, with Panasonic taking over the traditional Fujifilm spot. Almost a third of the booth was dedicated to printing devices and the Instax family, which is one of the most popular and profitable area for Fujifilm.

25032868950_d097cd047d_c

In the middle, the second third was made of a stage wth a large screen for the live talk events, with probably twice as much seating benches as last year, and a small gallery of beautiful prints from X-photographers.

25328848885_d3338dcf43_c

The last third was dedicated to testing the X-Pro2 and any XF lens, with a stage with 2 models posing. Once again, I feel like Fujifilm could easily do a better job with the lighting of the testing stage. If you let people take pictures of models with your most advanced cameras and lenses, you might as well try to do as much heavy lifting as you can to make the models look good, so that people are impressed by the test shots they take… Sony and Panasonic do a much better job at that for example.

As I said, there was no product I had not yet held in my hands at least once before. This time I was allowed to use my own memory card, but I think I jinxed it when I then continued to use the same memory card with my X-T1 for the rest of the day, so I only have JPEGs. Keep in mind that the lighting conditions was quite poor.

A few samples using the new Acros film simulation:

I also shot a short video clip for those who care about video. Look at the white background in the first few seconds 😦

There was also a small place dedicated to the new XF100-400mmF4.5-5.6 zoom lens (and the 1.4x tele-converter) which has just been released. Not much queue there, though not really surprising as such “super telephoto” zoom is not aimed at everyone, though I would have expected that more people would have queued out of sheer curiosity. I first shot with the lens mounted on my own X-T1 (which I am quite sure is using the latest public firmware), and the focus was very slow, but as soon as I switched to a demo X-T1 (with a different firmware) the auto-focus speed became completely standard. I had been told it would be the case by the Fuji representative who handed the lens to me, but I needed to test it myself 🙂

25032841900_3a9dc470d9_c

Samples without the 1.4x tele-converter:

Samples with the 1.4x teleconverter:

Finally, while there was no novelty on the show floor given the fact that all the new products had already been shown for the X-Series 5-year anniversary special event in Tokyo, there were a few new infos released behind closed door to the press, and relayed to us by Fujirumors:

  1. The X-T2 will have 4K, and could be announced at the upcoming Photokina (http://www.fujirumors.com/fujifilm-manager-at-cp-x-t2-will-have-4k-no-plan-to-add-it-x-pro2-via-fw-monochrome-x-pro-x30-successor/)
  2. a 2.0x tele-converter is in the pipeline – no surprise there if you ask me, but the XF100-400mm might be a bit too slow (in terms of max aperture) to use with a 2.0x teleconverter outside of broad daylight conditions in my opinion – as well as a couple lenses that are not appearing yet in the official Fuji roadmap (http://www.fujirumors.com/cp-fujifilm-presents-2-0x-teleconverter-and-says-1-or-2-more-lenses-not-in-roadmap-now-will-still-come-this-year/)

Well, that’s it for Fujifilm at CP+ 2016, can’t wait for the Photokina announcements now 😉

 

Leave a Reply

